John Feary

City Manager's Office
Title: City Manager
Phone: (918)341-1325 ext. 112

After nearly two decades in public service and economic development, John Feary was named Claremore City Manager in December 2020. He is responsible for the day-to-operations of the city, and oversees sixteen departments ranging from tourism to public safety. Prior to joining full time as City Manager, John served five months in an interim capacity.

John brings unique experience in economic development through his previous role as Executive Director of the Claremore Industrial & Economic Development Authority (CIEDA), where he was responsible for attracting, retaining, and expanding quality jobs and retail opportunities in Claremore.

He has a long tenure of working with local governments at various city and county levels, and understands the importance of developing reliable infrastructure and sound economic initiatives to build communities.

John is active with the Coalition of Tulsa Area Governments (CTAG) and served on the Oklahoma Governors Economic Development & Marketing Team (GEDMT), the Oklahoma Economic Development Council (OEDC), and serves on the Board of Directors for the Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance (NORA). He is the current board president for the Gatesway Foundation, dedicated to providing opportunities for adults with intellectual disabilities. An avid golfer, John also enjoys serving as a Trustee on the Heritage Hills Interlocal Cooperative, The Stampede Park Rodeo Cooperative, and the Rogers County 911 Trust Authority.

He formerly served in leadership roles for the Claremore Area Chamber of Commerce, Oklahoma State Chamber of Commerce, Tulsa Regional Chamber and the Tulsa Regional Water Plan initiative.

Through his extensive travels to promote Oklahoma and Rogers County, John has a unique understanding of how to drive actionable results for Claremore and surrounding communities.

John is married to Chelsea Levo Feary who is an economic developer and they have 2 children, Ian 16 and Emma 15.


Return to Staff Directory